top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Gradwell

The Rise of Skywalker Reaction

So early Tuesday morning (in the UK anyway) the final trailer for The Rise of Skywalker was thrust into our lives to much fanfare. Shortly after tickets on sale and already has blasted the sales record set by Avengers Endgame into oblivion. Yeah, Star Wars is dead alright....And the Fandom Menaces boycott is going great!!


But what about the trailer.....? Well, I have purposely waited a day or two to comment because I needed to take it all in. In all honesty I wasn't that impressed upon first viewing, I was very underwhelmed. Now, I could put this down to the fact that I was very tired, so I waited. I looked at all the reactions online which were overwhelmingly positive. What was I missing? Something which there was do doubt about is the quality of the score on that trailer, absolutely sublime from Mr Williams. Superb. A variation on the Star Wars theme that gave me a lump in the back of my throat.


So, I watched it again, And again. And now Im a real fan of it. I think the mistake I made is that I watched it on my phone. Nothing is great on a mobile phone. Also, I expected a different angle. I was expecting something bombastic and grand, with lots of action. I can see now that the decision to make the trailer more about hope, with a touch of sentimentality, was a wise decision.


So now all we can do is wait. I have my tickets booked for midnight showing, have you?


Adam



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page